The coast, DJM, DJ Martin Gore, hot tubs and crab claw Bloody Mary: My first road trip in a decade was kinda amazing.

18 Dec
Come on, how cute is this flyer?

Come on, how cute is this flyer?

Our pal Douglas McCarthy (who has a new album that’s amazing, it’s like if Townes Van Zandt’s cousin from the apocalyptic future made an album) told us he was DJing an event with Martin Gore to raise money for a pretty stellar group called Notes for Notes.

I’ll give you a minute to get through all those links.

Good?

Good.

Anyway, I’ve never been to Santa Barbara. That I know of. I have been on tour a couple of times and stopped off in random cities along the West Coast that I never really saw, so in all fairness, I could be wrong. But I jumped at the chance for a road trip filled with great company, beautiful views, and brilliant entertainment.

ROAD TRIP!

ROAD TRIP!

We checked into the Montecito Inn  it was pretty nice, pool and jacuzzi were open 24 hours, ehem FYI hotels with curfews: 24 hour pool FTW. They also had free Charlie Chaplin DVDs which was weird, but whatever. We were too busy going on awesome adventures to even turn on the TV, besides, I was always more of a Max Linder girl anyway.

After checking in we headed over to sound check.

After checking into our hotel we headed over to sound check.

The event was held in a warehouse/garage constructed of cement bricks with a metal roof. “Surely this is a great sign for the sound!” I thought to myself. But to my surprise the sound was phenomenal. You may say it was the JBL set up, but I say the sound dude was A FUCKING WIZARD! I’ve got my eye on you sound guy. After sound check we headed over to Arlington Tavern for some pre-show booze and food. Burgers, mac & cheese, pork belly, beer, wine, and to nobody’s surprise at all, I opted for meat in tube form. I love me a sausage party, what can I say? But this place was awesome, loads of locally sourced options and everything we had on the menu was great.

I want to thank whoever created this event for a "warehouse party" on foursquare.

I want to thank whoever created this event for a “warehouse party” on foursquare.

The party was amazing. The venue looked killer when they finished decorating. They set the bar up under this vintage Jaguar and stocked it with phenomenal local beers. I want it in my house. The stage was set up with a wall of speakers. I also want that for my house.

When we went out front to watch Doug I heard somebody yell-whisper (Really people, why even bother? The yell-whisper is not smooth), “That’s Douglas McCarthy’s mom!” That’s weird right? Do you know what your favorite musicians’ parents look like? You shouldn’t.

View of the Douglas J McCarthy set from the stage.

View of the Douglas J McCarthy set from the stage.

View of the Martin Gore set from backstage--the awesome Jag that the bar was under is in the background. Like I said, pretty great set up.

View of the Martin Gore set from backstage–the awesome Jag that the bar was under is in the background. Like I said, pretty great set up.

At some point during Douglas’ set I saw Martin Gore go into the crowd. I assumed he’d never make it back alive, but I was wrong. He must be both kind to his fans (to make such an unsolicited journey) and a super hero (to make it back in one piece unscathed). I meet musicians and artists every day as part of my job, but I’ve never seen a real live super hero in action, so I was really excited about that. His nearly four-hour set was pretty rad too.

Have I mentioned that I want that wall of speakers?

Have I mentioned that I want that wall of speakers?

After much champagne, dancing on stage, and general merriment, we hit the 24 hour jacuzzi, BECAUSE WE COULD! The next morning all the champagne caught up to us and we went for Crab Claw Bloody Mary recovery brunch at this amazing place Tupelo Junction Cafe. The home-made breads there are amazing. The bacon has this campfire taste–I have no idea how they do it.

This Bloody Mary ruled.

This Bloody Mary ruled.

Leave a Reply

